Australian RC Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys,

this is for my HoBao Hyper7 Nitro buggy abnd i am running 27mhz radio/reciever

when i have my engine off the servos/radio operates perfect.

then when i turn on my engine, and especially when i rev the engine, the reception cuts in and out. I have been running the same controller and crystals for about 3 months prior, without any problems.

when i hook it up to a fail safe, my fail safe cuts in and out. indicating to me that somewhere it is loosing reception.

anyone else had this problem? what could be the cause of it.

p.s its not interference from other people, coz there was no one else around.

thanks for any advice
Edited by: KyoshoKev

·
Premium Member
6,579 Posts
Xtals are very delicate chips of quartz crystal... occasionally they can fail due to vibration or heavy impact. Try another pair of xtals.

The RX on a nitro car should always be wrapped in foam and tied onto the car. It shouldn't be servo-taped onto a solid part.

RX in nitros should also be waterproofed by sticking it inside a balloon or special splashproof rubber cover. Spilling nitro fuel onto the RX can often kill it.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Have you changed any thing recently?

Do you have any metal on metal moving parts?...eg. Touch your engine block with a screwdriver with your radio gear on...it should trip your fail safe...is that the same thing you are experiencing? If so look around at what could be touching... and try to eliminate it. I hope this helps.

·
Premium Member
6,579 Posts
Knox used to be bad for 27MHz gear due to all the truckies and their boosted CB transmissions on the highway nearby...

·
Registered
202 Posts
AFAIK, only two things can cause the fail safe to cut in, interference
or low or interrrupted rx pack voltage. With interference, try another
location, borrow a friend's crystal's and see if there is any
difference.