Australian RC Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all... And yes i'm a newbie

I'm about to order the savage ss kit and a picco 26 engine.
But i'm a bit worried on the price, Does $850au sound right??

Next question, Whats the picco engine like? Are they reliable? Or is there a better engine I could get when I order the kit?

Ove to radios, I used to have a 1/10 tourer with an JR XR3 radio but since sold it to a mate. now he wants to sell it. This radio will do the job fine yeah..??

Thanks All
Edited by: Kyl3

·
Premium Member
2,880 Posts
Kyl3,

Welcome to the forum.

Couple of Q's back at you....

Where are you buying it from?
What servos do you / would you have with the JR XR3?

The price sounds about right considering you have the Picco in there. I run the Picco .26 and love it. Reliable, easy to tune and very strong. Considering the price, I don't think anything touches it. If you want alternatives as a comparison:
<UL>
<LI>Picco .26 - 2.7 HP and 38000 RPM - US$179
<LI>Fantom .27 - 2.8HP and 42500 RPM - US$199 (new engine - not alot of reviews or road tests - so it is a little unknown IMHO)
<LI>Sirio .27 Monster Horsepower - 3.1HP and 39000 RMP - US$389 (Ouch)
<LI>RB .28 - Unkown output and RPM - they do not publish specs - but will be significant - Price - TBA but will be as Ouchy if not more so than the Sirio.</LI>[/list]

When you look at these the Picco starts to look even better. Particularly as it is a commonly used engine and most people are very happy with it.

As for your radio - I would say no probs. Just make sure you have a significantly torquey servo for the steering. Would recommend a Hitech HS-645MG (133oz/[email protected]) as a minimum. Go the HS-945MG (153oz/[email protected]) if you have the cash (this is their new coreless jobbie). If you are absolutely insane go the Hitec Digital HS-5945... it is absolutely awesome (180oz/[email protected]).

I hope this helps.

Regards,