Australian RC Forums banner

Horrible noise coming from my HPI Trophy Truggy Flux

10K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  Bloodbath 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

Recently I took my truggy out for a normal off-road run, nothing too bad but there was a couple of flips that landed fairly hard.
Towards the end, when I was about to stop and leave, I noticed a really bad churning noise. It sounded as if some gear was grinded or as if something that was out of place. I'm an amateur RC hobbyist so I didn't have a clue as to what was actually going wrong.

I stopped the car, opened up the lid and had a quick look, but everything seemed to be OK except a dog bone that had been slightly more bent(it was bent before). I first thought, I thought the dog bone might have been loose so I replaced it and had another go. The sound started again and I noticed it accelerated no where near the rate it used to before. I also noticed once it hit the (new) top-speed of about 6-7km/h, the abnormal noise would stop. So I figured it must have something to do with the gears.

The issue's been bothering me a lot, and I really want to get this truggy up and running again.

Would you guys have any clues as to what would be going on or any advice to fix the issue? Any help help would be greatly appreciated and if you want to see it, I can upload a video tomorrow.

Thanks!

See less See more
#3 ·
I am thinking pretty much the same as above...I would be pulling out the diffs one by one, check, repair and re-oil.

A bent dogbone could mean that a diff pinion has been smashed into the crown wheel of the unit and damaged it, it could also be the internal gears(planetary gears) within the main diff unit itself....these are not hard to work on, but to save any confusion, lay the parts out in the same pattern as they are in the model, this way you will know where everything goes when putting back together