Australian RC Forums banner

Fail-safe feature not working

8K views 31 replies 4 participants last post by  sameera.c 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum. I own a GV JCT RC8 truggy. I'm not very experienced still and while I was bashing my truggy last week in a track which had some water, car ran into water pits every now and then. Most of the times when that happened, car missed the beat and engine stopped. However, fired-up back without much hesitation.
two days later I took out the battery pack and servos to clean them and put back together. Doing so, I dismantled the servo arms where I took a mental picture of how they were.
After I put them together, I don't think the throttle servo is working as it should. I tried fine tuning the servo arms but when the radio throttle trigger is at neutral, servo goes all the way back to brake the wheels. And I don't see the fail safe feature, which was told to be an inbuilt feature in the radio system, working. (it should only brake the wheels in the absence of transmeter signal if fail safe is working properly) But now it locks the wheels when the throttle trigger is not depressed and doesn't make any difference when radio is turned off.

Can some own please explain me what's happened? I really like to learn the logic behind these adjustments. (however, its damn hard to do it on my own)

Thanks in advance

Cheers
Sam

See less See more
#2 ·
Remove the throttle servo arm, turn on the TX then the RX, set the throttle servo adjust knob on the TX to centre. Re-attatch the servo arm at throttle neutral possition. Check operation.
Be sure you have fresh batteries in your TX and RX.

I hope this helps.

#4 ·
#5 ·
I got a manual with the car. its shows the diagrams but no pictures. However I think it originally came in that set up, according to what I remember. thanks for the link. it doesn't bringing up anything related though. However I found some other important materials there.