Australian RC Forums banner

heli spinning on the spot, please help!

13K views 17 replies 6 participants last post by  Mr.Leopard 
#1 ·
hey guys, im new to the world of rc helis & after a few cheaper helis i went out & brought myself a blade 450 3D not that i can fly well but u have to start somewhere right? i got a few ebooks explaining how to tame down the 450 to be a trainer but after a crash i put it all back together & when i went to take off about half throttle it spins round on the spot on the ground. i put a few notches on the trim on & then it spins the other way. i have since played with the tail servo trying to centre it etc etc, but to no avail. its still doing the same. i then set everything back to factory settings hoping this would fix it, but no. oh i have to mention to that it the tail servo has a bad twitch, its like its having a fit at times.
any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

oh & does anyone know where i can go on the net to get terminology of words etc so i can understand what everything means?

#2 ·
First thing to check is that the tail belt is installed correctly..
There's a 90 deg twist in the belt ; if you twist it the wrong way , you'll get the rotation thing that you have!

There's a few other possibilities too , but check that first...

Any heli clubs/flyers near you ?

I'll try to dig up a terminology page!!

#3 ·
#6 ·
thanks peter i will try that once i fix it again, it broke the tail rotor grip/holder cos of the overload i think. if its not 1 thing its another! i dont really have a heli club here but i have heard of people that fly down the oval. im trying to find out more info of when they are down there so i can take it down & hopefully they can show me a thing or 2.

#8 ·
My new heli build spun anti clockwise on start up, it gave me a hell of a fright..as soon as it got light on the skids, it must have spun at 100rpm or so.
I was not keen to test it again like that lol!