Australian RC Forums banner

ok, i want to buy a boat

11K views 47 replies 19 participants last post by  Big boyz toyz 
#1 ·
hey, im new to the whole rc/boat scene..so..what is a good, cheap(not crap, but beginner budget freindly) boat to start off with?
any helps appreciated.
btw im thinking electric, but a low-power nitro would be OK..

chizz.

Edited by: da_msta_chizz

#2 ·
Chizz,

If you want something a bit bigger, there's one on off the Newcastle, NSW, coast that you may get cheap!!

Is 40,000 tonnes too big?

Cheers,

Steve

#4 ·
nahh, post is only $160,000AUD, ill just pick it up anywase, im only like 20mins drive away from it, dont know if it'd be fast enough for me though..maybe something with a bit more sting...

#5 ·
da_msta_chizz said:
hey, im new to the whole rc/boat scene..so..what is a good, cheap(not crap, but beginner budget freindly) boat to start off with?
any helps appreciated.
btw im thinking electric, but a low-power nitro would be OK..

chizz.

Depends if you want to race or not.

You should take a trip out to the Regatta Centre in Sydney or drive up the F3 to Maitland and have a look at what guys are running and if you're lucky there may be a second hand boat or two available.

Heres a couple of links to start with

www.ampba.asn.au/forum

www.hvmmc.com

clubs.intlwaters.com/mbcnsw

#10 ·
I am also looking at electric boats, what did you end up getting (if anything) chizz? My LHS has the traxxas ones like the blast etc so maybe once of those? I have also been checking out the proboat site. im guessing that as soon as I get used to it I will want some brushless power, so upgradability is a must.

I will be buying two or three to race around my oldies dam and fairly flat ocean when we go on holidays :)

#11 ·
#13 ·
do ya fry these things much i mean when they get wet

#18 · (Edited)

With Hatch cover tape over the join between the hatch and hull, very little if any water gets in even if you capsize your boat.