: Hi guys need some advice im a newb

razE
27-10-2012, 12:17 PM
I was looking at buying hsp rc car but I saw a post from Stoogey on a whirlpool forum who seemed very knowledgeable and it made me research some more and I ended up buying a Thunder Tiger MT-4 G3 and I will receive it later on next week. I really know nothing about the hobby but I am mechanically minded and could use some good general advice. On Saturday I was thinking I would go and buy batteries and a charger from a local hobby shop here in Qld. I see everyone buys lipo batteries but I believe I can choose from 2s,4s,5s,6s lipos? Should I buy online or from a hobby shop? I like the speed increase I see from the 5's and 6's but I am worried about wrecking any gears inside because of the sharper acceleration and am thinking maybe a 4s would be a good choice as it is pretty quick and would make things probably last a little longer. I see there is a chassis upgrade to avoid bending, is this just a part you can buy? Any upgrades that are essential to have? Does an electric motor need to be run in? I only plan to take it pretty easy to start with and have no desire currently to do big jumps or anything like that. Anyway I am here for advice and sorry for all the questions but I would trust enthusiasts advice over a salespersons anyday! Thanks to Stoogey for being straight up in the post on whirlpool as it says he is a member here (and why I signed up here) and anyone else who helps me out!

Thanks,
Matt.

RoBB
27-10-2012, 02:10 PM
Spot on with the right car mate

Could be handy to go speak to a hobby shop and learn what to do and how to charge them, a lot of us members buy from hobbyking, they have a awesome range of batteries and chargers to

Your brushless motor will not need to be worn in

With the mt4 g3, it's easy and cheap to make your own brace, also I would recommend Loctite the chassis screws