Australian RC Forums banner

Osprey

32K views 314 replies 16 participants last post by  little_drifter 
#1 ·
My Osprey arrived 2 days ago but I had no servo for it. Now I do, so here's the thread!

It was $325 from Hobbyking.

Spec.

Length: 1075mm

Width: 310mm

Height: 120mm

Weight : 2780g

Motor: 4074 size 2200kv Watercooled brusless

ESC: 180A watercooled (required)

Drive system: 4mm

Required.
Radio System (2ch) & Receiver
1 x 3kg standard size servo
1 x 5300mah 6S 40C Lipo
1 x 180A ESC Watercooled

And some pics........

Plant Sky Boat Vehicle Automotive design

Water Boat Watercraft Naval architecture Drag boat racing

Gas Auto part Plastic Bag Electric blue

Cable Wire Electric blue Electrical wiring Ingredient

Circuit component Passive circuit component Hardware programmer Electrical wiring Electricity

See less See more
#2 ·
Here is a vid from my first run with it today.

I am a boating noob, so here's a question. It seems to take a little while to get onto a plane. Is this becasue its under powered only being run on 4s, or should I adjust the trim tabs, or the COG?

Any advice would be apprecaited!

#4 ·
No programming card, is there one for this esc?

Yeah it is def under powered.

I could run 2x3s in series to make 6s but my 3s packs are only 2200mah.

I'll get a couple of 6s packs very soon, just bought a DX3R Pro so wallett is empty again.

#5 ·
Pretty sure there will be a programming card for it. Drop the 2x3S in and see how it spins up, should give it all the power it needs.

From HK websire, Timing Mode Setting (1 / 7 / 15 / 30) should be a card for it then, to change the timing.

#6 ·
Yes I just noticed that, however it didnt come with any instructions so I dont even know how to program the ESC with teh transmitter.

I'll bung the 2x3s in there and see how we go, the run time will be about 2 mins ha ha

#7 ·