Australian RC Forums banner

Ni-Cd Vs. Li-Po

1K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  crusey_aus 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone,
As you can probably guess I’m a newbie to this thing so please be kind. The problem I have is that I replaced a 7.2V 1800 mAh Ni-Cd with a 7.4 V 2 cell 5000mAh Li-Po Battery in my son’s NQD px -16 Storm to try and improve the longevity and performance of the boat. This had a subsequently fantastic effect on both. Unfortunately the left hand side (390 type) motor burnt out. They use two motors for steering.
1/. Can someone please explain why this happened if the voltages are more or less the same????
2/. Moreover, could someone please recommend an exchange motor (as cheap as possible) that might be able to handle the setup??? It has a 15 amp dual esc built onto the circuit board/ receiver.

Many thanks.

#2 ·
I don't really know much about boats but I am gonna throw a couple of ideas out.

1800mah NiCd vs 5000mah LiPo...
The 5000mah LiPo would last much longer than a 1800mah NiCd and so it would have a lot more time to heat up.
The solution here would be to either gear it down or put a bigger motor in.

If it has water cooling (I doubt it), could be blocked up and letting the motor overheat?

Brushes on the motor worn out?

There are a few boating fellas on here who might be able to help you out.

#4 ·
Now lets see
5000 lip is it 7.4 volt how many c discharge rate does it have
a nicad battery can only throw out so much power at any one time it cant force any more out like a 4 cylinder car
a lipo battery of 25 to 35 c can discharge a lot quicker therefore pushing more power to your model like a v8
keep in mind dont use a 11.1 volt on a 7.2 system it will blow up
lots of differences in batteries these days

#5 · (Edited)
To run lipos safely you need an ESC that is lipo capable

I would guess that the added weight of the larger pack put strain on the motor and caused it to fail