: Belt driven drifter setup

Renmazuo27
30-03-2010, 12:14 AM
Hi guys,

I'm a rookie in the rc Nitro drifting world (My first post on here too) and I'm a little lost on where to go. I'm in the process of acquiring a Kyosho V-One RR Evo and I plan to turn her into a nitro drifter.

Being a roller I'm a little lost on what sort of engine to pick in terms of capacity. My LHS recommends a .18 engine to give me the extra grunt I need whereas more common onroad cars tend to use a .12 engine. What are your thoughts on this?

After a little reading I've deduced that I'm going to have to lock up the diffs. 4wd (or is AWD more appropriate??) drifting seems to be the way to go here and in terms of tire setup it seems the 'cheese-grater' set up of 26's @ fronts and 30's rear (or was it vice versa?:confused:) is the more popular setup. (I'm assuming that most people tend to use drift tyres and not foams for drifting)

Also heard that small stones are enough to snap the belts. Are there any methods to combat this?

Any feedback would be appreciated from you guys as you would have more experience than me.:)

drift crazy
12-05-2010, 04:06 PM